Book Review: The Roanoke Girls

raonokegirlsTitle: The Roanoke Girls

Author: Amy Engel

Release Date: March 7th, 2017

Pages: 279

My Rating: 4 stars

Synopsis:
A teenage girl is sent to live with family she has never met before, after her mother commits suicide. She knows nothing of this family, or why her mother kept her from them…until she learns the secret and runs away, herself. But 11 years later, she’s called back when her cousin goes missing. The story flip flops between the 2 time periods, revealing secrets, and giving possible second chances.

My Thoughts:
This is one messed up book. But it sinks it’s hooks in and makes you want to finish it!

I had heard that the twist is revealed early on, but I do not think that as true. The synopsis does not elude to the themes running through, and that *is* presented early, but the possible answer to the mystery (ie. what I consider the twist?) is not really discovered until closer to the end. Though maybe I have my terminology confused as to what is considered a twist.

The running theme throughout the book though is pretty disturbing and I just do NOT understand it. I can’t explain without getting into spoiler-y discussions. Maybe I might do a book talk on it if anyone happens to be interested in my thoughts.

I did like the flashing back and forth to different time periods to tell the story, I think it worked really well. And the characters were gripping and rich, the plot not too slow, fast enough to grip you in, but not quite fast enough to rush through the book. It hits kinda home for me, as I grew up in a small town, and to imagine something like this happening…it’s completely foreseeable, but at the same time, I wonder how not everyone knows. Growing up, everyone knew everything about everything it seemed!

I don’t know whether to like or dislike this book, I didn’t like the end, cause I just can’t fathom it. I can’t decide to rate this 3.5 stars or 4, I have it listed at 4 for now.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Leave a Reply

