Book Review: Caraval

caravalTitle: Caraval

Author: Stephanie Garber

Release Date: January 31, 2017

Book in Series: 1 of 2

Pages: 402

My Rating: 3.5 stars

Synopsis:
Scarlet has always wanted to attend Caraval, a traveling magical game. However, her controlling father will not allow it. Then, she is kidnapped by the help of her sister and taken to Caraval, where she has to play the game to find her sister and get back home before her father figures out they’re missing. But Caraval is not all as it seems, as a game, to Scarlet, nor to us as readers.

My Thoughts:
Hmmm. Hm. Hm. Hm. Hm. Hmmmmmm.

All this time, I thought…meh. It’s okay. I don’t know how I’m going to like it. Then I get to the last chapter, and now I don’t know what to think!

This is NOT similar to Night Circus, IMO. It’s not a circus at all. It has very little details similar to the Night Circus. The similarities come with the feel that magic brings, it happens at night, and it supposedly travels, though I’m not sure how this…”game”(?)…would travel anywhere.

I don’t know what to think about the comparison to Night Circus, more than I feel like we miss out on that feeling that would make this novel seem similar to the Night Circus. I think the magic, and all the details of this game that would make this feel like the Night Circus, we do not get to see. There’s lots of magic and amazingness that happens throughout the game, and we see a very few instances of our main character experiencing this the first night of Caraval, but then I feel like, by continuing to follow her story and plotline, it gets all left in the background, more than anything. Not only that, but then, by the end, nothing is as it seems…to our character, nor to us. I’m still just a bit confused, since I was very curious to find out what was going on by the end and may have sped-read a bit to get there.

Am I happy with the ending? I mean, I guess so. It all turns out in a happy ending, mostly. But then, I’m still kept guessing a bit…which I guess is a good thing, since there will be a book 2.

Leave a Reply

