Book Review | Home on the Range

homeontherangeTitle: Home on the Range

Author: Ruth Logan Herne

Release Date: October 18, 2016

Book in Series: 2 of 3

Pages: 298

My Rating: 4.25 stars

Synopsis:
Nick works hard helping to run his family’s ranch, while also being a single dad. Things get even harder when his daughter starts having a hard time at school, his ex-wife shows up unexpectedly, and disaster strikes the town. He struggles trying to juggle everything, while also trying to show his father he can handle taking over the ranch.

My Review:
I didn’t realize this was the 2nd book in a series, when I received it, so I had to go out and get the first book, and read it, so that I could read this. Technically, it’s said that you can read this one without having read the first one, but I think it’s better to have read the first, plus it would spoil some of the first book, if you did want to go back and read that one.

I liked how this one dealt with certain relationship aspects, I feel they were done better than the first one, and at least somewhat more realistic. This one does contain “instalove,” but it is at least a bit more reserved. While it seems not *SO* instantaneous, it still is very quick and, I feel, not quite a realistic timeline, for the end result.

I am very much enjoying this series, otherwise, though. It’s a quick, easy read, and I’m loving the ranch setting, and big family aspect. There is decent character growth for the protagonist and at least one child, secondary character. However, the other children, secondary characters I feel could be more realistic, as no child is always so good around people 100% of the time, as portrayed in these novels.

These are part of a Christian fiction series, but the religious aspects are not super heavy. There are a couple references to Bible verses, and some themes running through, and they attend church.

I meant to have posted a review much earlier. I thought I had, only to come look for it and not be able to find it! Oops. I am looking forward to getting the 3rd book in the series, which comes out in early May.

“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”

One thought on “Book Review | Home on the Range

  1. Pingback: January 2017 | Reading Wrap-up & Book Haul | Faithfully Moonstruck

Leave a Reply

