Book-to-Movie Review: Series of Unfortunate Events

I just finished watching the first 2 episodes of the new Series of Unfortunate Events TV show, which covers the whole of book one, The Bad Beginning, by Lemony Snicket.

I am really liking the series as a TV show! I think they did a really great job. I like the overall feel, and for the most part, the acting is on par, and not too cheesy (most of the time).

It has just the perfect level of weirdness, which correlates right along with the strangeness of the books. And I like how they also incorporated the Narrator too! Mr. Poe’s coughing is just a little weird, it seems like he has some disease, that would be very contagious, but I know that’s pretty true to the books as well. I also like how well they did Sunny, for the most part. I know they do have to portray her  biting, as the book depicts, and I think they have done a good job, but haven’t gone over the top either.

One thing I do not get, is the extra characters at the end? Maybe I am forgetting the first books of the series, due to having read them a couple years ago, but I do not recall who these characters could be, or if they were portrayed at all in the book.

At least these are my feelings, so far! I am watching the show with 4 of my 5 kids (youngest doesn’t care, at 9 months old…haha), and they didn’t want to watch at first, but were wanting to continue after the 2nd episode, and I said we’d have to wait til tomorrow. 🙂 I am looking forward to watching the next couple episodes!

If you have watched any of the new TV series, please let me know what you thought in the comments (but please, no spoilers past the first 2 episodes).

Leave a Reply

