Book Review: Hello, Bicycle

17Title: Hello, Bicycle: An Inspired Guide to the Two-Wheeled Life

Author: Anna Brones

Release Date: June 7, 2016

Pages: 192

My Rating: 2.5 stars

Synopsis:
An inspirational and encouraging illustrated guide to the world of bicycles and cycling, with practical information on bike buying, riding, repairs, and maintenance. (Taken from Goodreads)

My Thoughts: 
I thought this would be better, but I really didn’t care much for it. I feel like this book is trying to convince you to ride bikes, more than inform you about it, once you’ve decided to ride. And I feel the order of some things could do some adjusting. It talks about addons to a bicycle you can do yourself, with step-by-step DIY instructions, before ever talking about bike maintenance or safety. I feel some of the things could be left til the end, once the more pertinent information had been relayed. There was also a curse word that I caught, which I felt was in bad taste, for an informative, non-fiction book. There were a few things I felt were good information for a book like this, that isn’t every day mundane topics that most people already know (whether they bike or not). It talks about how to lock up a bike, which I wouldn’t have already known if my husband wasn’t a bike guru, and it mentions how to do some very basic maintenance and repairs, that are super simple to do yourself instead of having to pay someone to fix every time it happens. I also liked how they mentioned community bike shops, along with proper shops, as options on where to buy bikes and seek help/maintenance. I feel like it was a lot of fluff, things that a typical person who’s looking to get into biking, would not care about or want to do/use, and not totally useful. I pretty much skimmed the last 2/3 of the book.

“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”

One thought on “Book Review: Hello, Bicycle

  1. Pingback: October 2016 | Wrap & Book Haul | Faithfully Moonstruck

Leave a Reply

