Book Review: Unblemished

28449231Title: Unblemished

Author: Sara Ella

Release Date: October 11, 2016

Book in Series: 1 of 2

Pages: 369

My Rating: 2.5 stars

Synopsis:
Eliyana has a large birth mark on her face, which has always gotten her ridiculed. But she is lost when the one person her who cares about her is recently lost. But that’s only the beginning of finding out who she really is, and what this large birthmark really means. Eliyana soon finds herself in a world much larger and more complicated than she’s ever known, in another reflection of NYC, with all kinds of different people, places, and problems.

My Thoughts:
FINALLY. I have finally finished this book. It took me a whole month. I was pretty busy for a good portion, and so have been reading just a few pages each day. But that is also because this story just did not GRAB me and hook me in. I did want to finish it and see how it ended, but was wishing it to just be over already. I enjoyed the feel of the book, and I actually enjoyed the character named Ky quite a bit more than I thought I should. Eliyana’s focus on her mother was rather quite annoying, which makes me feel bad, as I can also understand it. And the writing was alright, I wouldn’t say special, but it was a bit different and refreshing to read. However, the story was a bit confusing, and maybe that’s another reason why I wasn’t hooked in. There is so so much to take in, so many details, and characters, and sides, and explanations, I just couldn’t keep it all straight. And I finally just had to resort myself to know that I was just gonna have to be confused. Even by the end, I didn’t quite have it all straight, but it did not deter the ending from completing itself, and understand, the majority, of what was going on. I rated this 2.5 stars. I wanted to give it a 3, but how confusing it was brought it down a half star for me. I thank Sara for sending me this ARC copy of her first novel! I have not read a lot of fantasy, but thought this would be a good one to try out. Definitely an interesting world.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Unblemished

  1. Pingback: October 2016 | Wrap & Book Haul | Faithfully Moonstruck

  2. Pingback: Fall Favorites | 2016 | Faithfully Moonstruck

Leave a Reply

