Book Review: June

16Title: June

Author: Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

Release Date: May 31, 2016

Pages: 400

My Rating: 4.5 stars

Synopsis:
A young woman is lamenting the death of her grandmother. A movie star leaves her his inheritance. She must figure out the connection between the two, while also dealing with all the repercussions of these 2 events. The story also flips back and forth to the grandmother’s story, as a young woman 60 years prior, and we see how those unfolding events affect the future.

My Thoughts:
I wasn’t sure I would like this, especially by looking at the cover (I am a total cover judger!). But I had heard a couple people have decent-to-good reviews, and went ahead and requested it. Even upon beginning the read, until about midway through, I didn’t think it’d be for me. Because of that, and also some busyness that comes with family visiting and the start of a new school year, it took me a while to want to read it, and get through the first half. But the second half got quite interesting, hooked me in, and I finished in just a couple days (still, with limited reading time). I really liked the back and forth, time jumping, plot lines. I didn’t see the point at first, but they came together nicely, by the end. I didn’t really care much for the specific characters…nothing really wrong with them, but they were slightly…not annoying, but…I just wasn’t connecting with them, I guess. But I liked the timeline eras, and the plot line. I liked the mystery and the way the result was revealed. I feel like I can’t really give much detail…


“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”

2 thoughts on “Book Review: June

  1. Pingback: September 2016 | Wrap-up & Book Haul | Faithfully Moonstruck

  2. Pingback: Fall Favorites | 2016 | Faithfully Moonstruck

Leave a Reply

