Book Review: We Are All Made of Molecules

moleculesTitle: We Are All Made of Molecules

Author: Susin Nielsen

Release Date: April 7th, 2016

Pages: 336

My Rating: 4.5 stars

Synopsis:
There are 2 young teenagers, one a popular girl, the other a brainiac boy, each with their own set of dreams and goals for themselves. Their parents get together, and things get a bit awkward and strained. And they must learn how to live with each other.

My Thoughts:
I loved this book! It’s a super fast, easy read that held my attention, and gave me a feel good vibe with completion. That being said, it’s totally not the best thing out there. This is considered a young adult novel, but the main characters are young teenagers, 13 and 14, and act even younger, in many instances. But at the same time, things happen that would be for much older kids, hence I understand the YA label. I just felt like the attitude of the kids read as if they were a few years younger than they really were. But there’s also a side character who is the same age (14/15yrs old?), yet descripted as much older, doing things way way older. At least, that’s the impression I got, that he is the same age…and if not, then doing things that are out of ordinary for an older teenager (ie. taking a girl on the date by bus, instead of driving; or dating a girl way younger than him, who in turn acts her age or even younger. I don’t think he’d really be interested in her at all, given his older age.) The girl character is also very immature and annoying, taking things with up and down emotions, to the max. Also, she is depicted as being very dense, with not knowing much about things other than fashion, but yet, also knows the direction NORTH is in. I find this SO HARD to believe, and I don’t know why, but it made me mad. lol That she can’t understand so many other simple things, or get the right words, but yet she knows her sense of direction? I don’t know my sense of directions, but more than this girl did at her age. I just find it unbelievable. In the end though, it was a fun, entertaining read, and I do think that the consequences of actions is displayed well.

One thought on “Book Review: We Are All Made of Molecules

  1. Pingback: July Wrap-Up & Book Haul | Faithfully Moonstruck

Leave a Reply

