Book Review: Room for Hope

25852741Title: Room for Hope

Author: Kim Vogel Sawyer

Release Date: February 16, 2016

Pages: 352

My Rating: 4.5 stars

Synopsis:
This is a Christian historical fiction novel. A woman finds out that her husband isn’t really on month long, every other month, business trips, when a gentleman arrives telling her he has passed away. Not only that, but he delivers 3 children to her, her husband’s children from another wife. Not only does she have to take over the business of her store, but she must also determine how to tell her own 2 children the truth about their father, and decide if she will keep the 3 children orphaned by her husband and his mistress.

My Thoughts:
I really enjoyed this book! I gave it 4 stars. I have not read a lot of books taken place in this time era. It was kind of difficult to keep my mind in this time era as well, because it was taking place on the very start of the industrial revolution, so this family had new conveniences, such as a fridge (called the “fridgidair”) and stove, indoor plumbing, but many also didn’t have all the  newest conveniences, and so there is still many horse and buggies used for every day travel, and outhouses, and the like. I kept thinking the time period was earlier, until the newer mechanical conveniences were mentioned again. I think more could have mentioned throughout the book to help us remember the time period better, hence my lack of star. Otherwise I thought this was a great plot, and kept me guessing and wondering how it all would play out. It had great character growth for multiple characters, and I like that the “mystery” of her husband was solved. I also think it had great representation of the Christian faith.


“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Room for Hope

  1. Pingback: May Wrap-up & Book Haul | Faithfully Moonstruck

  2. Pingback: My Spring Favorites | Faithfully Moonstruck

Leave a Reply

