Book Review: Why We Broke Up

rt1Title: Why We Broke Up

Author: Daniel Handler

Pages: 354

Release Date: December 3, 2013

My Rating: 3 stars

Synopsis:
The story is actually a long , written letter, from a girl to her ex-boyfriend. Throughout the story is pictures, of all the items she is giving him, in a box. Each item represents a story or instance from their past relationship, and is paired with a reason as to why they broke up.

My Thoughts:
I honestly didn’t really care for this book. Straight out of the first few pages, I felt it a bit ridiculous. AFTER we hear how heartbroken the main character was at the breakup, and how she had loved the guy so much, we find out the couple only dated for less than 6 weeks. That put a bad taste in my mouth right away, as I find it a bit silly to be “so much in love”, in high school, after such a short time. So I found it hard to be sympathetic to the whole premise of this story. I did really like the writing style and the feel of the overall book, and it still held my attention a bit, which is why I still gave this book 3 stars, and not less. If I hadn’t cared for the writing as well, I’d have probably given it 2.5 stars.

 

One thought on “Book Review: Why We Broke Up

  1. Pingback: February Wrap-Up & Book Haul | Faithfully Moonstruck

Leave a Reply

