Book Review: Magonia

21393526Title: Magonia

Author: Maria Dahvana Headley

Release Date: April 28, 2015

Book in Series: 1/2

Pages: 309

My Rating: 3.5 stars

Synopsis:
This is about a girl named Aza who is very very sick with a disease, unable to breath, that is unknown throughout the world, she’s the only one with what ails her, and it’s named after her. One day she gets so very very sick, and is taken to the hospital by ambulance, but there is a snowstorm, and the ambulance gets stuck, and she dies. Only, she’s still alive. She wakes up on a ship in the sky, where she finds another world full of bird people, where she learns she had originated for, and where she can actually breath normally, and feels amazing, and not sick. The ship is captained by her real mother, and she learns she has a magical power beyond any other Magonian, and is expected to save her Magonian people with it.

My Thoughts:
This is such a different book! I almost can’t tell if I enjoyed it or not. The start, and through at least the first half of the book, is slow and made me wonder if she were ever to find out what was wrong with her, or how the book would resolve in such a short amount of book left. I did really like the character development of our main character, Aza. She comes from this sickly, weak position, and ends up in a strong, confident body. I did find the ending a bit far fetched, in regards to her family, I feel like that part of it was wrapped up too quickly. I initially thought this was a standalone, but have since found out there’s a second book to the story. I have put it on my TBR list, but am not super anxious to read it, and haven’t decided for certain, yet, if I will.

One thought on “Book Review: Magonia

  1. Pingback: February Wrap-Up & Book Haul | Faithfully Moonstruck

Leave a Reply

