Book Review: Magnolia

18689829 Title: Magnolia

Author: Kristi Cook

Pages: 336

Release Date: August 5, 2014

My Rating: 4 stars

Synopsis: 
2 southern families have been close friends for almost as long as anyone can remember. They are just waiting for the day that they could be joined together by marriage. Until now, there has yet to be a compatible age/gender coupling, but that’s where Jemma and Ryder come in. Born 6 weeks apart, all their mothers can dream about is a wedding in their future, to join them together. Too bad Jemma and Ryder despise each other, and will do almost anything to get their mothers off their backs. Jemma wants nothing less than to never see Ryder again, but a hurricane forces them to spend some time together, possibly reigniting some long buried, residual feelings for each other.

My Thoughts:
I thought this was a pretty good book, kinda the opposite of “the-wrong-side-of-the-tracks” kind of story. I did feel that the shift in feelings, especially for Jemma, were somewhat sudden, and forced…like, that it was noticeably done for the purpose of the story. But other than that, I think it was all done pretty well, and not a super quick happening. I haven’t really read much of traditional-southern-families books and I really enjoyed this, fully completing the southern stereotype for traditions and manners. I do not, however, enjoy this cover so much. I think it’s a really pretty, great cover, but honestly, they could have used some better people, as Ryder specifically is described as a larger-football-player type of build, and HOT. lol Overall, I really enjoyed this book, and sped through it in just over a day (could have read it in one day, if I hadn’t already read a good 50 pages previously).

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Magnolia

  1. Pingback: My Winter Favorites | Faithfully Moonstruck

  2. Pingback: Top 5 Favorite Books | 2016 | Faithfully Moonstruck

Leave a Reply

