End of 2015 Review / 2016 Goals

I haven’t done much reading lately…well, at all this month! I had taken a summer break from Youtube, and planned to come back in September, but, I’ve had some big life changes and busy schedule, and despite a couple attempts, I haven’t really gotten back into it. So maybe I’ll just do the blogging thing. We shall see.

Anyways, I did want to do an update on my original 2015 reading goals that I set at the the very end of last year! I think I did pretty decent.

Goal #1: to read 50 books. I always set 50 books as the goal…if I don’t make it fine, if I surpass it great. And this is the first year I’ve actually accomplished this goal!! I read 83 books this year (I doubt I’ll finish any others by the end of the year). If you want to see all I read, head over to my Goodreads page. ACCOMPLISHED!

Goal #2: to re-read at least 6 books. I did not count multiple books in a series, only the first book…mainly because I was re-reading Harry Potter and didn’t want to fulfill this entire goal by just reading one series. And I still did it! I re-read 9 books (plus any others in the series, so in actuality, quite a bit more, even): the Harry Potter series, the Last Survivors series, A Little Princess, The Boxcar Children, Obsidian, The Hunger Games trilogy, the Face on the Milk Carton series, Sarah’s Key, and The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series (minus the last book). I actually really love to re-read favorite series/books, and have read Harry Potter, the Last Survivors, and the Milk Carton series multiple times, previously, even.  ACCOMPLISHED!

Goal #3: to read at least 6 Kindle books that are already on it (not seeing one interesting, buying it, and then reading it). I did not accomplish this one, but I got pretty close! I haven’t really yet gotten much into my Kindle reading, despite having owned a Kindle for a good 5+ years now. I usually use it more when I travel, and read 1-2 books a year on it. I’d like to get using it more! I read 5 books, though: Story of Awkward, Unique Kind of Love, Edge of End, Gone (plus I did read it’s 2 sequels, but I bought those after reading the first), and A Stroke of Luck: A Girl’s Second Chance at Life. ALMOST DID IT.

Goal #4: to read at least 4 TBR jar-picked books. I spent a lot of time making up slips of paper for all my TBR books, to put into a TBR jar. I had planned to read at least 1 a month, if not more…but that wasn’t happening, so I set the goal to read 4 out of it for the year. And I only did half of that, even, so I read 2: The Girl on the Train, and A Stroke of Luck: A Girl’s Second Chance at Life. I even grabbed the jar a few times throughout the year, and pulled some slips…and they weren’t something I wanted to read, so I put them back. I think I will redo my jar, and put a much smaller sampling of books into it. This one has all my physical unread books, plus all of my Kindle unread books (and that’s a lot for both). I might do my list of books I want to read in 2016 only this year, or something. HALF DID IT.

Goal #5: to read 1 classic book. I set this goal in hopes I’d read something new, I have a few classics on my shelf that I’ve never read. However, I ended up re-reading a favorite classic, The Little Princess. I did actually listen to it on audio instead, which is something I have very rarely ever done, so it was a bit different..and probably the only reason I was okay with counting it for this challenge! ACCOMPLISHED!

Goal #6: Catch-up/Finish series, including The Series of Unfortunate Events, the Lunar Chronicles, and the Wings series. I did a Finish That Series Challenge, that inspired this goal, and though I did not get to the Wings series at all, nor finish the Unfortunate Events series (though, I did read 2 books in the series this year), I did either finish or read a few full series this year. I did not complete The Lunar Chronicles, but I did catch up to all that were out, until the last book’s release. Only reason I didn’t get it and finish, is that I put it on my Christmas list in hopes family would buy it, but no one did (sad-face). But I did read/finish 7 series this year: The Last Survivors series, the Lux series, The Hunger Games, the Gone trilogy, the Janie Johnson series (Milk Carton series), To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (duology), and Monument 14 trilogy. Hmm…I just went to look and see what badge I would have earned, but the video about this challenge is gone, and as I’m searching the Goodreads Group, Goodreads went down as well. *GRR* I think it’s a bronze, maybe silver? Not sure though. I’m calling this ACCOMPLISHED!

Goal #7: to keep up better on this here book blog, and do reviews. Well, this one’s easy. Yeaah…totally didn’t. I’m not too upset by it though. BIG FAT FAIL.

Goal #8: to do 2 videos a week, with more original content on my Booktube channel. I did this, for as long as I was active. I haven’t really posted anything much, since July though. So…HALF DID IT.

Goal #9: to keep a book diary. I did do this one, and I actually did it pretty well! I’d slack a bit, sometimes, but then go back and have to fill in, which I’m okay with that. In fact, I need to go fill in the last couple months, but then it’ll be complete, January to December! I even bought a new diary book to do the same for next year. ACCOMPLISHED!

Goal #10: to create a book bead necklace. I haven’t done this one yet, but it’s also not something I could really do until the end of the year. I need to figure out all my beads, what I’m putting beads on for, and how many I need, and pick them out and everything. But this is one I’m still really excited about and plan to do! STILL ATTEMPTING!

So that is 10 goals and:
– 5 ACCOMPLISHED
– 1 ALMOST ACCOMPLISHED
– 2 HALF DONE
– AND 1 FAIL.
I’d say that’s pretty good actually!!

I also did the PopSugar Challenge, and did 42 of those 50 goals. I have a list of books that would fit each goal, and had planned to go through and put one book for each goal, but I’m lazy. It’s all tabbed at the top of my blog, if you are interested in looking.

SO FOR NEXT YEAR!

I am so not planning all kinds of goals next year, like this one. I’ll be having a new baby and I’m fearing I’ll go back to being a non-reader, as I did after I started having my kids 7 years ago. But I hope not. So for next year the only thing I am planning, besides the normal Goodreads challenge of 50 books,  is a list of 16 books I want to read in 2016. I have all year to read them, and still have plenty of time to read other stuff as well (hopefully).

Here is the list of 16 books I want to read in 2016 (in no particular order):
1. Winter, by Marissa Meyer
2. Series of Unfortunate Events, book 12
3. Series of Unfortunate Events, book 13
4. The Selection, by Kiera Cass
5. The Raven Boys, by Maggie Stiefvater
6. Not a Drop to Drink, by Mindy McGinnis
7. Magnolia, by Kristi Cook
8. Girl Online On Tour, by Zoe Sugg
9. Lying Out Loud, by Kody Keplinger
10. The Spectacular Now, by Tim Tharp
11. Crank, by Ellen Hopkins
12. Birthmarked, by Caragh O’Brien
13. Shatter Me, by Tahereh Mafi
14. The Knife of Never Letting Go, by Patrick Ness
15. The Darkest Minds, by Alexandra Bracken
16. Burn for Burn, by Jenny Han

What kind of goals are you setting for yourself in 2016? Any specific book challenges? I do love challenges… haha

Leave a Reply

